Wednesday, 26 June 2013

Tuesday 2nd July: Pickpocket

Ian Bumstead – Tenor Saxophone

Tom White – Trombone

Steve Pringle – Fender Rhodes

Fergus Ireland – Double Bass

Pete Ibbetson - Drums

Many thanks to Nick Costley-White’s trio and the Braysher / Gorodi Quintet for another superb evening of contemporary jazz down at the Amersham Arms last night, next week we are excited to premiere the brand new SECollective ensemble Pickpocket led by reeds-man Ian Bumstead…


Surreptitiously pilfering through the musical baggage, the fast-fingered SECollective quintet Pickpocket combine edgy grooves and sinuous lines amid sonorous free-improv with an almost criminal abandon. More artful than Artful Dodger, structured simplicity brushes against anarchic freedom, where dissonant vamps casually disappear into distant harmonious sequences. With a veiled nod in the directions of Dave Holland, Mark Turner and David Binney, dexterous misdirection is the name of the game, no matter how deep the pocket.

Lightening your wallets of just £5, come and join us down at the Amersham next Tuesday for fresh new music! From 8.30…

Also this week, the SECollective concludes its’ monthly residency at the Spice of Life (Soho) on Thursday with a not-to-be-missed double-bill! The night will feature two SECollective flagships; the dynamic trio Redshift and the energetic Alam Nathoo Quintet.


Redshift are a new collaborative venture coming out of the SECollective. Expect playful grooves & interaction, experimenting with role-playing, compositions from all three members.

Trish Clowes - Saxes
Andrea Di Biase - Bass
Patrick Davey - Drums

Alam Nathoo Quintet

A tight-knit ensemble that has been together for several years now, the emphasis is on material that is largely accessible, using memorable themes and catchy grooves, whilst retaining the adventurous spirit of modern jazz improvisation. Playing music from the album 'Quintet', available on most digital platforms, including here:

Alam Nathoo - Tenor Sax
Hannes Riepler - Guitar
Tom Hewson - Piano
Ryan Trebilcock - Bass
Jon Scott - Drums

Doors: 8pm Entry: £5/7

No comments: